Recipe: Summer Bounty Bread

I’m not a stranger to overly larger summer squashes, but these monsters were easily the biggest zucchini I’ve ever laid eyes on.  For reference, that knife in front is sporting a 6.5″ blade.

I was given these, and asked what could be done with them – at this size, they’re too tough for just a basic saute.  I wanted to take advantage of how much veggie I’d get out of one.  Before growing our own, I was always hesitant to use zucchini in recipes that called for three or four of the “normal” sized ones.  I love them just barely cooked in pastas, lightly roasted over polenta, etc. and usually didn’t want to “waste” them in something like zucchini bread.  I knew these guys would go well into a baked good, but I bypassed the chocolate cakes and the sweet breads until I found a handful of recipes that were reminiscent of a savory cake that is often served in France (apparently.)  I took a few hints from a few recipes, and came up with something both decadent and light, and very surprising.  It was one of those things that was either going to turn out beautifully, or fall apart in the pan.

Lots in here – Zucchini, tomatoes, bacon, rosemary, salt and pepper.  My own herbs have been annihlated by the heat lately, so the rosemary is from the pantry, but fresh would really sing.

If I’m guilty of something in baking, it’s that I have zero patience for greasing pans.  I usually grab the cooking spray and call it a day, but I’m out and keep forgetting to buy more.  I used leftover bacon grease for this, and I think it was the perfect choice.

The final product, ready for dinner.  I think my favorite part of this particular recipe is that you could really do a lot with it.  Green onions and summer squash, lots of garlic, changing out the herbs…  The final product is rich and eggy, but doesn’t overwhelm the rest of the meal in any way.  In the end, I only used a portion of one of the monster zucchinis above, and still have plenty left over to try my hands at a chocolate cake or some fritters.

Summer Bounty Bread

Ingredients

2.5 c flour

2.5 tsp baking powder

6 ounces parmesan cheese, grated

.5 tsp each of salt and freshly grated pepper

1 tsp rosemary

5 large eggs

1 c. water

1/2 c. olive oil

2 c. shredded zucchini

1 c. tomatoes, diced

5 strips of bacon

1/4 c. chopped onion

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and grease a large loaf pan.
Saute bacon until crispy.  Drain on paper towels until cool, and chop.
Place shredded zucchini and diced tomatoes in a colander and allow to drain for 10-15 minutes.  Meanwhile, combine flour, baking powder, salt, pepper, rosemary, and cheese in a large bowl.  Beat eggs, water and olive oil together, and combine with dry ingredients.  Combine zucchini, tomatoes, bacon and onion in a large bowl.  Pour batter over vegetable mixture and fold until just mixed.
Pour in prepared pan and bake for at least an hour, or until top is golden and a toothpick inserted in the center of the loaf comes clean.  Cool completely before serving.
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lynn on June 25, 2012 at 4:04 am

    Looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

