Maple Cranberry Cake

photo(36)

This is one of those recipes that borrows from a couple sources.  The cake is something I’ve made many, many times in a simpler form.  The simplicity of the original recipe is what drew me to it in the first place: a handful of ingredients and a 9×13 pan do absolutely nothing to take away from the neon awesomeness of fresh cranberries.  I’d make it plain; no glaze, no icing, no fuss.  Awesome for a pot-luck holiday meal, or a just-because-it’s-Tuesday sort of thing.

For Christmas, though, I wanted something special, without losing the simplicity of throwing it all together, baking it and walking away.

Best laid plans and all that jazz.

My very first issue had little to do with the cake and everything to do with the cheap, awful bundt pan I own.  Sure, it’s a very pretty green, but I have never, ever had the perfect, defined fluted cake I see in pictures.  According to Amazon reviews, I’m not the only person to have issues with the coating on this particular pan.  I do take full responsibility for not thinking about this when I decided to make this recipe in that pan. however.  The cake eventually came out of the pan, but it didn’t come completely clean.  Not really the end of the world, but…. meh.

The second issue I had relates to the icing.  I got it in my head that I’d do a buttercream icing, and thin it out a little bit so it worked more as a drizzle on the bundt cake.

Cue the crying infant, the usual Christmas day chaos, and not paying close enough attention to the mixer.  Disaster.  I’d used up the last of my powdered sugar, so I ended up having to MAKE MY OWN before deciding to rely on the tried and true icing I’d used on the cinnamon rolls.  Thanks, <a href=”http://www.thepioneerwoman/com”>P-Dub</a&gt;.

So, in the end, I did have a really tasty cake with a truly delicious icing.  It just took more effort to arrive at than I’d originally intended.

 

Maple Cranberry Cake

Ingredients

Cake

3 eggs

2 c. brown sugar

1 c. salted butter, softened

2 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp maple extract

1 tsp salt

2 tbl milk

2 c flour

1 bag of fresh cranberries

 

Directions

1) Beat eggs and sugar in an electric mixer for approximately 7 minutes.

2) Add butter, vanilla, maple extract, and milk.  Mix for 1 minute.

3) Combine salt and flour.  Slowly add to mixer until completely incorporated.  Fold in cranberries by hand.

4) Pour batter into greased bundt pan, and bake in a preheated, 350° oven for approximately 50 minutes.
5) Remove cake from oven and allow to cool.  Remove from pan, and add maple glaze.
Maple Glaze Directions are here.
Leave a Reply

