2013 – Dreaming in Green

Herb Party

 

2012 was sort of a mish-mash for us.  We farmed, we watched goats give birth, we waited… and waited… and waited for rain.  And in the end, we packed up and moved North to start again.

The fall served as a time to sort of regroup.  Learn about our land, start building up the preserve business, and make some plans.  Now that January is here and the distraction of the Holidays is passed, it’s time to get the ball rolling for our spring gardens.  First up?  Planning the beds and buying the seeds!  John has already cataloged our existing seed store, and I found a really hand Ball guide to gardening for canning, so the next order of business is taking those lists and working through the seed catalogs to figure out what we need to buy.

In addition to fruit and veggies, I have dreams of a huge herb garden that can fill both kitchen and medicinal needs.  Pile on more chickens, goats, and some experiments in aquaponics, and we’re looking at a really busy year.

Here’s to a great 2013!

I’m normally not a big fan of Q&A type blog posts, but what are you planting this year?  Do you know where you’re getting your seeds?

One response to this post.

  1. Hiya, I really like reading your blog. Like you, I’m also going to plant some more herbs. I sat down and wrote out a list of all the herbs that I use in my cooking and these are the ones I’m going to start with – mint, basil, parsley, sage, thyme etc. I like to buy organic seeds from our local garden shop or seedlings if I’m in a hurry, I do image my garden is on a smaller scale to yours though. Best of luck to you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

