Let’s Talk About Milk, Baby

cream

I put this thick, lucious, fresh, RAW cream into my coffee this morning.

That’s right, raw.  Raw Milk has always seemed like some bastion of granola, hippiness to me.  I remember the hullabaloo in Colorado while we lived there.  I remember the arrests in California.  I’ve heard of cow shares, and I’ve combed through Arkansas laws trying to understand how the raw milk regulations there applied to our goats.  And despite all that, I’d never tried raw cow milk.  I’ve taken sips of my goat milk, and while I recognize the difference between fresh and store-bought, it wasn’t really my thing.  Loved the cheese and yogurt though.

So, when I started hearing about how milk could potentially double in price in the next month, we started looking around for other options.  We’ll be getting goats again in March, and I want to hit the ground running with the cheese and yogurt making.  What better way to practice than getting some raw milk from another producer?

Enter the great state of Pennsylvania, and a little town just 30 miles from us.  We made the trek out there on Tuesday with a trunk full of glass jars and left with 3 gallons of thick, creamy, ice-cold milk for under $10.  This is what followed:

resting milkThe milk rests in the fridge, awaiting cream harvest.

pastuerizedSome of it is/will be pasteurized.  This is a half-gallon just for drinking, being iced after pasteurization.

stretchingStretching the mozzarella.

537386_310496002404043_1743258744_nThe finished product: a gorgeous, silky ball of mozzarella cheese.

photo(37)Buttah!

So, what’s the verdict?  The mozzarella is great.  Raw milk really is the stuff for good–nay, great–cheese.  I’ll be making ricotta and yogurt today from the stuff I have left.  The butter is creamy, but has that grassy taste that will take some getting used to.  The milk is alright and the cream is really thick, if distracting in coffee.

The taste will take some getting used to, honestly.  I didn’t take my first sip and bow down to the deliciousness of raw milk.  It’s an acquired taste, but I can appreciate how different it is from the flat, watery stuff I buy at the grocery store.  I may not become a raw milk swillin’ convert, but I’ll definitely make the journey for more.  I’ve got cheddar wishes and stilton dreams.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mimi on January 12, 2013 at 12:18 am

    When I was a kid we drank raw milk, churned fresh butter…it is wonderful! By the way, try the goats milk in your coffee..yum!
    Love your posts..now I want to learn how to can the fresh veggies from my garden too!

    Reply

  2. I’ll definitely try goat’s milk in the coffee once we have them! 😀 Can’t wait to hear about your canning adventures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

