Searching For An Old Way

268483_331259213654789_1040191247_nQuote by Arthur Ashe. Original photo source here.

It’s easy, easy, easy to look at our world and our culture and start pointing at what’s wrong. Off the top of my head, I could rant for at least twenty minutes about what I think is wrong with our society, and I would be just one voice amongst the millions. We all have differing opinions, beliefs, and thoughts, but I’d wager that most everyone could probably agree that things could be different.

For me personally, the thing I want most to be different is about connection: our connections to each other, to the world around us, and even to the soil our food comes from. Each week at the grocery store, it’s getting harder and harder to find a connection to where our food comes from. I’m not saying anything new when I say that food at the store has become more about convenience than it has about taste or quality.

So what am I doing about it? What are we doing about it?

Rabbit Wing was born out of the idea that we’ve lost our way. We’ve lost the ability, in so many ways, to appreciate the true purpose of preparing a good meal, or growing our own food. It isn’t just about eating, but about creating and appreciating the connection it gives us. I have lofty dreams of working with my kids on the garden, of teaching them how to cook, and how to care for our animals. I want to expand out from food, and learn more about how things used to be done before the world became about speed, about machines, about planned obsolescence. I want to learn to craft and repair by hand. I want to learn an older way.

I’m not saying that it’s all bad; I love having the internet in my pocket and air conditioning in my house. But I also love days when I open the windows and leave my laptop closed, and I want my kids to appreciate them, too. So, I’m doing what the quote above says. We’re starting with what we have: lots of hands, some time, and the will. We’re not waiting until we can afford to buy 40 acres and a mule. And we’re doing what we can: cooking from scratch, ordering seeds, canning, and getting a stall ready in the barn. In some ways, it’s a lot, and in others, it’s not enough.

But, it is something.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks so much for featuring my photo/pillow! It can be found in my shop Casa&Co. at http://www.casaandco.etsy.com

    Thanks again!
    Best,
    Ashley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

