Kitchen Juju and The Market

photo(83)Really early, and really cold. Welcome to Spring!

We’re less than 48 hours from our third market day, and so far, I’m completely in love with it.  I love talking to people about our jams, our farm, and the little kid I’m toting along most of the time we’re there.  So far, I think we’re off to a great start.  Lots of good feedback on everything we’re selling and we’ve even managed to make a few trades with other booths for produce.

That’s not to say, however, that it’s without a lot of work.  Week one saw a successful run of jam making, but some seriously frustrating bread-baking.  Week two saw three (THREE) epic failures on my part: two batches of caramel in the trash and some burned apple butter.  Woot.  It meant no little treats for any of our buyers, but at least I was able to suck up all the bad juju in the kitchen: the breads were amazing.

I’m hoping week three won’t have many hiccups at all.  We’ve got the usual suspects: blackberry jalapeno jam, blueberry lavender, spiced peach, strawberry balsamic and a fresh batch of salted caramel apple butter.  Also making an appearance will be our strawberry lemonade concentrate, some salted caramel brownies, and Dad’s amazing sourdough boule.  There may even be some roasted garlic baguette, but I don’t have confirmation of that just yet

The bread-baking begins in just a few hours with preparation of the sourdough and I’ve got that apple butter to finish up, so here’s hoping I’ve done my part to exorcise that bad juju from last week.

Leave a Reply

