I Like to Call It…. Seat of the Pants Setup

Goat Glory

See all this idyllic goat grazing?  Not on purpose.

I come from a family of planners.  Vacations, meals, parties, shopping trips… we plan it all.  In some situations, it feels like there’s more energy going into planning than whatever the particular activity actually is, but that’s okay!  It’s what we do!  So, naturally, as soon as we moved onto the farm, the planning started.  Mostly, by me, because I’m the only human female here (sure, sure, there are approximately 49 other females here, but they can’t talk.  Or plan.)  I drew plans for new gardens, I researched seeds, I bought goats and chickens and lions and tigers and bears.  Throw in the lumber for our garden boxes and a chicken tractor and we were READY.

And then, you know, real life happened.  Winter stretched on a little too long.  The beautiful Lamanchas we bought weren’t pregnant after all.  That last frost did a number of my tomato seedlings and I don’t even want to talk about what happened to my hinkelhatz peppers.  That amazing BCS tiller we rented to rip up the three sisters gardens and the pea beds?  Doesn’t do ANYTHING in four inches of mud.

This isn’t our first farm, but it is our first year here and it absolutely feels like we are starting all over again.  This is new ground, and those chickens are new chickens, and those goats?  They don’t like the grass in their pen one little bit.  They really, really prefer everything that’s on the other side of that fence.

But it’s okay.  There’s room for error, there’s always next year.  We replaced some of our lost plants, picked up some varieties we didn’t know about.  I put the word out that I’m willing to trade for a goat in milk.  Some of the non-female human members are using shovels to do what an expensive piece of equipment couldn’t.  It’s not easy, and it’s not perfect, but it is something.

And it feels infinitely better than nothing.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stacie on May 31, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Love the positivity and I really need to look up what a Hinkelhatz pepper is!

    Reply

    • I ordered mine from SeedSavers. It’s a tiny little hot pepper grown by the Pennsylvania Dutch originally. So named because it looks like a chicken heart. I found out about them searching for peppers that do well in the Northeast… usually hot peppers need a ton of hot weather to get nice and hot! (Or so I’m told! We’ve only ever grown them in really hot places before!)

      Reply

  2. Posted by Deborah johnson on May 31, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    Keep planning, keep learning, there is something magical about every season of the year. Most importantly, enjoy every day on the farm:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

