Five Things… That Are Keeping Me Busy.

20130728-220031.jpgRecycled from Sunday – these are snipped and curing on the porch.  All 830 million of them.  

1) Planning for homeschool preschool with the boys.  There’s themes, and lesson plans, and a lot of crayons.  And at some point, we’re going to need a trip to Ikea.

2) The Fall Garden.  I hadn’t really put much thought into a garden for fall, because we were so behind with our main garden, but suddenly August is almost here and I’ve got bare soil crying out for turnips and beets and a second round of peas.

3) The Main Garden.  It needs weeding, and likely some watering if it doesn’t rain in the next 12 hours.

4) Canning.  It’s been a slow start, but I’ve got 5 lbs of veggies sitting on my counter waiting for pickling.  Add to that a needed trip to the Extension Office to have the Presto looked at, a huge chest of jars that need washing, and um, ya know, the huge amount of tomatoes that will probably be showing up on my counter before I know it, and it’s finally sinking in that canning season has really, truly arrived.

5) The recipe backlog.  I have so much I want to write!  I’ve documented in photos my love affair with lard, there’s a very neglected SfS to get back on track, and just a general backlog of recipes I either need to blog about or just overall get in digital format.

Thankfully, the kids and I are really starting to hit a stride around the house with some better routines.  If I could get my foot back in normal functioning order, I feel like I’d really get some stuff tackled.

How is summer treating you?  Anyone else totally amazed that July has come and gone?

Leave a Reply

