Recipe: Apple Cider Pumpkin Pancakes

Apple Cider Pumpkin PancakesEveryone and their mother is posting some sort of pumpkin recipe right now, but I’m not about to let that stop me from sharing these awesome pancakes with you.  How awesome?  My kids are working on not their second, but third helpings.  And they’re doing so QUIETLY. 

My three year old requested pancakes for lunch, with the sweetest possible smile he could muster.  I wasn’t really feeling the usual recipe I make for breakfast.  It’s good enough, but I like to squeeze in some other food groups at lunch.  I searched for pancakes on Allrecipes.com, and even though it returned about 4.5 million recipes, the very first thing I saw was the thing I made. 

Pumpkin Pancakes. 

With a few tweaks, of course. 

The original recipe called for just milk as the liquid, and only the most basic of spices.  I wanted something a little spicier, a little more reminiscent of pumpkin pie.  Swapping out some of the milk for apple cider allowed me to reduce the richness of the final pancake, and let’s face it, any excuse to use apple cider is perfectly acceptable. 

I also used some fresh pumpkin I’d pureed last week, but I think canned organic pumpkin will be nice here as well.  I do think, though, that it will probably create a cake that’s a little more dense.  If you’ve got fresh pumpkin, use it here, the freshness won’t be lost in the way it might a pie. 

Enjoy! 

Apple Cider Pumpkin Pancakes

Ingredients

1 c. milk

1/2 c. apple cider (use more, if your batter is thicker than you prefer, but start with 1/2 c.)

1 c. pumpkin puree

1 egg, beaten

2 tbl. butter, melted

2 tbl. apple cider vinegar

 

2 c. AP flour

3 tbl. sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. allspice

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. salt

 

Instructions

1) Combine together all wet ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Stir together all dry ingredients, and sift into wet mixture. 

2) Allow batter to rest while griddle/pan preheats.  Grease griddle as necessary.  This batter is fairly dense and does not “bubble” in the same way many other pancake batters will.  Try a test pancake first, but I found a cake made with approximately 1/2 c. batter took about 3 minutes on the first side, and a little less than 2 on the second. 

3) Serve hot, with lots of butter and a drizzle of maple syrup. 

 

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda Meredith on October 28, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Several people at work wish they were at you house for lunch.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jan Kimball on November 25, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    I’ve got Coconut flour….will that work? Is the quantity the same, do you think?

    Reply

  3. From what I’ve read, it’s the same amount, but you’ve got to add in extra eggs… this site talks about ratios, and my guess is you’ll find some variation on that amount. If I were making this with a sub flour, I’d mix together dry, add my wet, check the texture, and then start adding in those extra eggs one at a time until the texture is right. At least with pancakes, there’s going to be a LOT of wiggle room!

    http://noshon.it/tips/gluten-free-baking-substituting-coconut-flour/

    Reply

    • Posted by Jan Kimball on November 25, 2013 at 4:34 pm

      Great….I won’t get a chance to try this until Thursday….I”ll let you know how it works…I’m trying to stay away from gluten….for weight gain reasons. And cutting back on sugars so I’m planning on using raw stevia……….Thanks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

